July 21, 2013

  • Bible Study Week 1 (7/16/12)

    A STUDY ON EXPERIENCE OF A FRESH EXPLOSION OF FAITH

    (By Beth Moore)  “A Taste of Believing God”

     

    This is Chapter I

     

     God is who He says He is.

     

    In chapter (1) “God is Who He says He is”  shed some light on my faith, because if God is who he says he is, then we are who He says we are, and we can have

    whatsoever we say according to His Word.

     

     Scriptures:

     

      I read (Gen. 15:7; 17:1-2, Ex. 3:6-8; 3:14; 6:6, 8).  This is on page 9-10.  Knowing is so important. 

     

    I have learned and still learning each day to put my trust in Him through knowing Him and Who He is in my life. That is why we must have a personal relationship with Jesus. “Know that the Lord is God”   I had to know in my knower that God was Who He said He was, I had to believe Him for myself, I had to change my percept  on Who God was in my life.

     

    Your Perception of God Controls Your Life”

     

     I enjoyed this chapter reading.  She talked about the patriarchs Abram and Moses, (Geneses 15:7, 17:1-2; Exodus 3:6-8, 3:14, 6:6,8). God constantly kept His identity and subsequent ability fresh in their minds. He kept reminding them of Who He was. “I am the Lord” Knowing that God is who he say He is, He is YHWH, our covenant Maker, He is Elohiym, The God over all creation.  In other words, you and I have got to know, not just hope or think that the One who cut covenant with us through the torn flesh of Jesus Christ is the same One who sits upon the universe’s throne, having spoken the worlds into existence.  Surrounded by a society that spouts many gods but at best nobly agrees to equate them, you and I can know that the Lord is God.  Question, Why is this important?  Christ was concern about His disciples knowing Who He was; In Caesaria Philippi, Christ gathered His disciples around Him and asked them two vital questions that beg answers from us as well,  First, Christ asked, “Who do people say the Son of Man is? (Matthew 16:13).  Christ knew the potential power of popular opinion.  This is a good book!  Who we believe God is greatly affects our eternal destinies!  We must beware of recreating an image of God that makes us feel better. That’s for sure; If in our pursuit of greater knowledge God seems to have gotten smaller, we are deceived.  Wow!  We must be careful. 

     

    Then there is one more question, “Who do you say I am?  (Matthew 16:15-20)
     He saith unto them, But whom say ye that I am? And Simon Peter answered and said, Thou art the Christ, the Son of the living God.

    And Jesus answered and said unto him, Blessed art thou, Simon Barjona: for flesh and blood hath not revealed it unto thee, but my Father which is in heaven. And I say also unto thee, That thou art Peter, and upon this rock I will build my church; and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it. And I will give unto thee the keys of the kingdom of heaven: and whatsoever thou shalt bind on earth shall be bound in heaven: and whatsoever thou shalt loose on earth shall be loosed in heaven. Then charged he his disciples that they should tell no man that he was Jesus the Christ.”

    As we consider God as Whom He says He is, we’re wise to ask ourselves the question: Who do I say God is?  Many people and factors can influence who we’ve come to believe God is: That is so true, Beth!

    In her last statement in Chapter one, Beth says this, Beloved, God invites us to participate in kingdom authority under the rule of His righteous will.  He extends staggering power to those willing to think with the mind of Christ rather than the mind of man.  God will also empower His children to bind untold evils and strongholds if we’d believe Him and cooperate with Him.  Where does this kind of existence begin?  With biblical answers to the pivotal question, “Who do you say that I am?”  God is looking for stewards willing to bind their own unbelief in the mighty name of Jesus and loose a fresh anointing of faith.

    Questions:

    1.  What your perception on God?
    2.  What was revealed to Peter?
    3.  What is revealed to you?

Comments (1)

  • 1     What’s your perception on God?My perception of God is that He is Who He say He is, I truly believe Him and His Word that give us all we need to know about Him.  My personal life with Him has helped me to know that God is an awesome God. My experience has strength my faith in Him, Oh yes, I have been discouraged at time, but God always come through2     What was revealed to Peter?It was revealed to Peter that Jesus was the Christ, and that God had sent Him, this was done through the Holy Spirit of God.3     What is revealed to you?I must have faith in God, and continue to believe Him, not just believe in Him, but believe Him and His Word. And I must share it with the world, as Christ challenge Peter.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *